Izumo Sushi – KINGSTON, ON

Izumo Sushi on Urbanspoon

This small gem in Kingston is one of the few places where I was wowed. I came back from a trip where I got to try beef sashimi for the first time, and I was hooked. I searched relentlessly for this dish in Kingston, only to find that Izumo Sushi was the only place that had it. I called up a friend to see if she wanted to go for dinner at Izumo and we finally set a date to go.

Izumo Sushi is only open for the summer from 5-9, so the first time we went they were actually closed cause they went on holidays. No matter, we were just gonna go down the street and come back another time.

We finally came back two weeks later. The place is very small, with probably just about 20 or so seats. The atmosphere is cozy and parking is not a hassle to find. I was seated first because my friend hadn’t come, and the service off the bat was very friendly.

The menu is extensive and they offer many different options for dinner. Bento boxes, special rolls, and hot dishes mostly made up the menu. I knew I was going to try the beef sashimi and I had the beef yaki udon as well. I was not disappointed.

beef sashimi 2

The beef sashimi was presented very well and it was DELICIOUS. Dip it in a bit of soy sauce and I could eat this for days. It was served cold, which was fine because it really plays well with the raw beef that you’re eating. For $9, it’s a bit of a reach but hey, it was worth it for me!

izumo udon 2

I also tried the beef yaki udon as my main course. They cook it with what they say is a “special sauce”, and let me tell you, it really is special. I’m not sure what the mixture is (maybe soy sauce with something else?) but it’s very good. It’s savoury and cooked with the udon and various vegetables, it tasted fantastic. The beef was tender and not overcooked, and the presentation itself was beautiful. I was really happy with my meal here.

My friend ordered the dynamite roll and she was pleased with her meal. You can kind of see the picture of it in some of mine :)

Overall, we would definitely come again. The service was great and the ambiance allowed us to feel comfortable. There was no one else in the restaurant, so our food came fairly quickly. They even gave us two slices of watermelon at the end :)

Price range for dinner is about $15 per person (give or take), but it is definitely worth a try!

-Sam

Leave a Reply

